The first is simply esthetic and has to do with Doppelsöldner. A pike unit has 1 crossbow stand 4 pike stands and a Doppelsöldner. If I double the size of the pike unit to 8 stands I will receive two crossbow stands and a Doppelsöldner stand. Any problems in adding the second stand of Doppelsöldner infantry. Keeping in mind that 1d6 will be thrown as per the combat rules. I just think it looks better and the sword and buckler men I purchased are excellent figures.
The second question is two part. I have my pike unit which is 8 stands if I purchase another four stands may I place them to the rear? It would give me a two stands wide unit 6 stands deep. How many ranks may I count as supporting in combat?
I see on the Facebook page question being asked will you be making a FAQ that may be referred to.
Thank you for the speedy reply. The depth of the pike formation was asked because of you tube videos that are on your web site. I count six ranks of pikemen. On page 7 the size is 4 stands deep and the videos contradict this. On page 23 the diagram shows the first base fighting the next two supporting the first stand. Since the rules have been out for a few years I am wondering if the change was made. I am fine with the answers given.